Murderer’s Thumb Print Cookies: Redux

Since my last batch of jelly thumb print cookies were a bit of a disaster, my mom sent me her recipe:

Jelly Filled Thumb Print Cookies
1 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 egg yolks (save whites)
2 cups flour
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
chopped walnuts or pecans
Mix together. Roll into balls about the size of large marbles. Dip balls in egg whites then roll in chopped nuts, make dent with thumb. Bake 8 minutes at 375. Plase 1/2 tsp jam or jelly in center. Bake 6 minutes more

These turned out better, though I used 1c flour and 1c whole what flour and I think the wheat flour made them too dry. I still found them delicious and remeniscent of my childhood. Kate thought they were too crumbly and preferred the first batch. Next time, I’m swapping out pecan meal for a 1/2 cup of flour and using all white flour…I shall report back.

That's Kate's hand reaching for a cookie. Caution: filling is hot!

Leave a Reply

